Main Content

ACU faculty honor 50 graduates as University Scholars

A group of top students from Abilene Christian University’s May 2022 graduating class were honored April 28 during the University Scholars awards ceremony in the Chapel on the Hill auditorium.

Approximately 50 scholars are selected annually by the Faculty Senate based on nominations from the academic departments. Each department is invited to designate one scholar and nominate others for at-large consideration.

Eligibility for the honor requires a 3.5 or higher GPA, demonstrated knowledge and skill in research appropriate to their field, and at least 90 credit hours at the time of selection.

University Scholars for 2022 are:

School of Nursing


Lauren Weilemann Nursing
Bailey Yale Nursing

College of Arts and Sciences

Katelyn Zak Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
Aubree Herrold Art and Design
Kortland Judd Art and Design
Brianna Douglas Biology
Megan Howard Biology
Braden Smith Biology
Sarah Dunn Chemistry and Biochemistry
Leonardo Garcia Chemistry and Biochemistry
Heather Johnson Communication and Sociology
Eastin Kandt Communication and Sociology
Sarah Ottinger Communication and Sociology
Becca Richie Communication and Sociology
Reuben Howe Engineering and Physics
Lilian McIntosh Engineering and Physics
Joshua Nicholson Engineering and Physics
Emma Longley History and Global Studies
Jane Tomlinson History and Global Studies
Allie Jones Journalism and Mass Communication
Kate Matthews Journalism and Mass Communication
Emily King Language and Literature
Hannah Sterenberg Language and Literature
Brookley Baker Mathematics
Emma  Conatser Music
Preston Miller Political Science and Criminal Justice
Sierra Shoaff Political Science and Criminal Justice
Anthony Egbo Psychology
Peyton Himango Psychology
Mya Parker Psychology
Katie Walker Psychology
Hannah Sanza Theater

College of Biblical Studies

Mason King Bible, Missions, and Ministry
Gabriel Laskey Bible, Missions, and Ministry
Emily Hand Marriage and Family Studies
Trinity Koemel Marriage and Family Studies

College of Business Administration

Destanie Crist Accounting and Finance
Jose Rodriguez Cisneros Accounting and Finance
Tyler Merritt Accounting and Finance
Isabella Maradiaga Molina Management Sciences
Jael Morel Becerra School of Information Technology and Computing
Wyatt Witemeyer School of Information Technology and Computing

College of Education and Human Services

Madison Cole Communication Sciences and Disorders
Allison Zitek Communication Sciences and Disorders
Jessica Elizondo Kinesiology and Nutrition
Marissa Wilks Kinesiology and Nutrition
Kerri Taylor School of Social Work
Annie Gilb Teacher Education
Raegan Palacio Teacher Education
Lesslie Picena Teacher Education

— Wendy Kilmer

May 3, 2022

SHARE: [Sassy_Social_Share type="standard"]