Faculty & Staff

Department of Communication and Sociology

Main Content


The Department of Communication and Sociology at ACU harnesses the vital role of communication and data analysis in modern society. Develop the skills to lead purposefully in careers where people and information converge in our Communications courses. Study across social issues and learn valuable discernment skills in our Sociology courses. We combine service-learning, community-based research and internships for a powerful practical learning experience.

Lynette Penya-Communication Sociology

Lynette Sharp Penya, PhD

Department Chair

Jon Camp, Phd, DMin, MDiv

Associate Professor
Associate Dean
College of Arts & Sciences



Joe Cardot, EdD


Lauren Lemley, PhD

Associate Professor
Communication Basic Course

Suzie Macaluso Communications Sociology

Suzie Macaluso, PhD

Associate Professor

Sheila Ritchie

College Associate Professor

Cindy Roper, PhD


J. D. Wallace


Adjunct Faculty

Kelliann Hale
Keely Hardeman
Audrey Lamborn
Krista Masci
Christine Rankin
Carrie Saltsman

Contact the Department

Department of Communication and Sociology
128 Sherrod Hall, Don H. Morris Center
ACU Box 28156, Abilene, Texas 79699-8156

Phone: 325-674-2136
Email: penyal@acu.edu


Office of Admissions

ACU Box 29000
Abilene, TX 79699-29000

Toll Free: 800-460-6228
Local: 325-674-2650


For personal service you can contact our Admissions and Financial Aid Help Line at 800-460-6228, via email at info@admissions.acu.edu. The Help Line is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.