Main Content

ACU students named Sumners Scholars, $30,000 scholarships awarded


Emma Jaax

Three Abilene Christian University students are among 43 students nationwide named as 2022 Sumners Scholars by the Sumners Foundation. Each student receives a $30,000 scholarship.

Emma Jaax, junior accounting and financial management major from Boerne, Texas; Hannah Maniscalo, junior political science major from Spring, Texas; and Gracyn McGathy, junior journalism major from Austin, Texas, have each been awarded a $30,000 scholarship. Scholarship selections are based on academic excellence, civic engagement and a capacity for leadership. The funds apply toward the students’ junior and senior years.


Gracyn McGathy

“The Sumners Scholarship is a very prestigious scholarship,” said foundation chairman Jerry Reis in a press release from the Sumners Foundation. “Sumners Scholars have made significant contributions to their communities, state and country. Following in the footsteps of Congressman Hatton W. Sumners, we are pleased to support students working to improve the political system, address issues through public policy, educate others about civic responsibility, and be active, productive members of society.”


Hannah Maniscalo

The Sumners Foundation’s purpose is to encourage study, teaching and research into the science and art of self-government to the end that the American people may understand the fundamental principles of democracy and be guided in shaping governmental policies.

“Students at Abilene Christian University are dedicated to public service and making an impact in the world. We are thrilled that Emma, Hannah and Gracyn join ACU students from previous years who are recognized as Sumners Scholars,” said Dr. Neal Coates, chairman of the ACU Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice.

Sumners Scholar alumni include such notables as U.S. District Judge Fred Biery, Chief Justice Nathan Hecht of the Texas Supreme Court, and Joseph Foran, chairman of Matador Resources.

Learn more about Sumners Scholars or about ACU’s Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice.

— Wendy Kilmer

July 8, 2022

SHARE: [Sassy_Social_Share type="standard"]