Main Content

Texas Golf Hall of Fame calls Barrow’s name

Lance Barrow (’77) may have one of the highest handicaps of all the members of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame, but his accomplishments stand tall in the game he loves to bring to TV viewers many weeks each year.
Barrow will be one of eight 2013 inductees honored Oct. 21 at Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio. The Texas Golf Hall of Fame and Museum is located nearby at historic Brackenridge Park Golf Course. Joining Barrow in this year’s class is PGA Tour professional David Graham, among others.

Barrow was ACU's Outstanding Alumnus of the Year for 2008.
Barrow was ACU’s Outstanding Alumnus of the Year for 2008.
A 10-time Emmy Award winner, Barrow is executive producer for CBS golf and the network’s coordinating producer for the lead NFL game of the week. He got his career start while as an ACU student in the late 1970s when he worked as a spotter for the late Pat Summerall, and learned the producer’s role from CBS icon Frank Chirkinian, the late “father of televised golf” who brought The Masters tournament each spring to the forefront of the sports world.
Barrow, an ACU trustee who lives in Fort Worth, helped Hutton Harris (’08) of the Texas Rangers Baseball Club gain valuable experience while he was an ACU student. Harris, now assistant in-game video and graphics producer for the Rangers, assisted Barrow during 55 PGA tournaments and NFL games involving the Dallas Cowboys and Houston Texans.
The Texas Golf Hall of Fame is composed of professional golfers, media and even a U.S. president, including Byron Nelson (a former ACU trustee), Ben Hogan, Ben Crenshaw, Justin Leonard, Betsey Rawls, Charles Coody, Don January, Doug Sanders, best-selling author-teacher Harvey Penick, and President George H.W. Bush. 
Barrow will be recognized for distinguished service in his career.